Song of the Current: A Review

31450960

Title: Song of the Current

Author: Sarah Tolcser

Publication Date: June 6th, 2017

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adults

Format: ARC provided by the publisher

Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.
Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.
From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark.

Amazon Goodreads B&N

my review

“The god in the river speaks to us in the language of small things.”

EXCUSE ME WHILE I’M OBSESSING OVER HOW WONDERFUL THIS BEAUTIFUL SPECIMEN OF A BOOK THIS BOOK IS. Do I really need to write in all caps? Not necessary. But when it comes to Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser?? Oh yes, all the fangirliness is needed!

So, in case it was not obvious enough. I. Love. This. Book. It has all the amazing goodness that my must read + must love list has, and the smol bean me here is pleased. Therefore, TADA! The list of amazingness coming your way.


Why-Song-of-the-Current-is-fantastic-Well-I-am-glad-you-asked list of awesomeness:

  • Kick-ass heroine who can seriously kick some behinds.
  • AND DID I MENTION I APPROVE ALL OF HER LIFE CHOICE?!! Someone needs to give this book the award of “Books That Don’t Give You Hair Pulling Issues” because yas Caroline Oresteia is an amazing character who does NOT make ridiculous decisions. #kudosforyougirl
  • Wherries, ship’s captains, river god… Name your favorite water theme, and you will get it!
  • The coolest family love ever.
  • DRAGON (that will squeeze the life out of said heroine’s enemies I AM PLEASED).
  • Awesome character and relationship developments

I know, I know, I am flailing. But seriously, this book is fantastic! The writing is just simply gorgeous. Not to mention the plot itself is absolutely unique and enticing. I could not put the book down. Also, it has the MOST BEAUTIFUL map ever!

(Like gosh just look at that map. I am swooning!)

I adore Song of the Current! The characters are amazing. The world-building, writing, plot twists… All are executed fantastically. The ending is very satisfying, and I can’t wait what Sarah Tolcser has in store for us in the future (by that I mean please write 20 more books). I wholeheartedly recommend this book!

1

You will love Song of the Current if you enjoy…

The Girl From Everywhere  Passenger  Blackhearts

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Song of the Current: A Review

  1. Ahh I got an ARC of this from Netgalley and I can’t wait to read it! Your review has made me want to dive in as soon as possible 😂 I really liked Passenger so I think this book may be perfect for me!

    Like

Tell me what you think...

