[ARC Review] Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter

ghostly echoes

summary

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder—her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, Detective R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all, and her killer may be far more dangerous than they suspected.

Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

my review

I am seriously so addicted to this series. IT IS SO SUPER-FRIGGING-OMG GOOD. The plot just keep getting better and better, and the characters are oh so on point. The fast-paced, the snarky writing, the mystery… Basically it’s a combination all double chocolate brownies GOODNESS. Also, it seems to me this is not the last book of the series (hurray!) so I super duper pleased.

This book is packed full with sweet, amazing Jenny. I’ve always secretly lurrrrv her, to be honest. I mean, who wouldn’t. Her friendship with Abigail is amazing. And she is that sisterly role in books that we just can’t help but saying “awww” to. I love to see Jenny grows throughout the adventure of untangling her tragic past (as much as a ghost can possibly grow), as well as her continuing friendship with Abigail. It’s amazing to finally get a glimpse into the characters I’ve been dying to know more about.

giphy9

And while the story is a massive paranormal-mystery gooey goodness…the snarkiness level always stay max awesomeness. Abigail’s voice is forever funny and amazing, and it’s great to see her grows to be a protector and caring friend in this book. And gosh, it’s AMAZED me how smart and observant and just pure awesome Abigail is. I seriously just adore her. Of course, let’s not forget our infamous Jackaby. Though, I feel like his presence was extremely held back in this book, and I’m kinda mad. It’s okay, I forgive you William Ritter.

Since we are mentioning William Ritter, obviously, you can’t forget the awesomeness of his masterful writing skill. I love his unique voice and the way he weaves everything in his world. And oh, the plot. THE PLOT. It’s an ever going ride of just one surprise and enticement to another. And the way he created the mood is just brilliant. He’s not telling you the characters are scared. He’s just gonna shove a full packet of shiver down your spine. Seriously, I’m addicted to this series and the struggle is real.

giphy1

Overall, I love the book. It was an amazing read. I adore the characters. I adore the plot. I adore EVERYTHING. Also, I need the 4th book. Like, now.

 - love xxoo,

2 thoughts on “[ARC Review] Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter

Tell me what you think...

