Spells of Blood and Kin: A Review

Book's Corner

Author: Claire Humphrey
Published Date: June 14, 2016
Genres: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Magic
External Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
**I received this book in exchange for an honest review. This in no way can affect my opinion for the book and its content.

26114389Synopsis

In her extraordinary debut, Spells of Blood and Kin, Claire Humphrey deftly weaves her paranormal world with vivid emotional depth and gritty violence. Bringing together themes of death, addiction, and grief, Claire takes readers on a human journey that goes beyond fantasy.

When her beloved grandmother dies suddenly, 22-year-old Lissa Nevsky is left with no choice but to take over her grandmother’s magical position in their small folk community. That includes honoring a debt owed to the dangerous stranger who appears at Lissa’s door.

Maksim Volkov needs magic to keep his brutal nature leashed, but he’s already lost control once: his blood-borne lust for violence infects Nick Kaisaris, a charming slacker out celebrating the end of finals. Now Nick is somewhere else in Toronto, going slowly mad, and Maksim must find him before he hurts more people.

Lissa must uncover forbidden secrets and mend family rifts in order to prevent Maksim from hurting more people, including himself. If she fails, Maksim will have no choice but to destroy both himself and Nick.

Arrow2 - Copy

Read it

This book was very…interesting. I know I sounded doubtful, but it was actually more of the surprise side, since I started out expected some old-fashion paranormal/urban legend. But guess what? I fell in LOVE with this unique and UTTERLY FANTASTIC book before I could even realize it. Also, did I mention it was based on Russian folklore? Ohh yesss…

As I mentioned, the paranormal element was absolutely special. The Russian legend aspect did a number of wonderful things on the book, especially when it comes to bringing the into the storyline something more unique and just simply FABULOUS. I did get a bit taken back the first few chapters, but it only takes a couple of turns for it to completely pull me in. It was definitely a strange but refresh experience.

weird

The characters are completely amazing. The multiple POVs trope has not always been my best bud, but this was done just PERFECT. The relationships between all characters are extremely intriguing, especially their developments throughout the book. Their voices are all very distinctive, and the emotions are beautifully depicted. That was an absolutely fine job there.

I just LOVE how personal the book feels. I mean, I definitely didn’t relate to anything much in this book, but instead of being your everyday kickass protagonist stopping an evil supernatural force, the book revolves around our main characters dealing with their own conflicts and consequences to their actions. There are battles in this, alright, but it was just a young woman fighting against her doubts, a solder who lived several lives, and a young man finding the way through the mess of his spinning life. Their stories are somewhat filled with confusion for me to get into, but once I did, it was a pleasure.

I found this book very interesting. I mean, jumping into something I’ve never heard of with no background and lack of information and then fell in love with it? Claire Humphrey, you are one fine author.

Arrow2 - Copy

Ratings

2

Arrow2 - Copy

- love xxoo,

2 thoughts on “Spells of Blood and Kin: A Review

Tell me what you think...

