#BookBuddyAthon (plus my hectic life) Recap

I am OFFICIALLY back, peeps! Woohoo!!

So in case you don’t really know what was going on (don’t worry, I do that every 2 seconds), here is a mini size recap…in a recap post:

  • I was on a small hiatus since last week in order to concentrate for final exams
  • About 3 weeks-ish ago, I participated in the #BookBuddyAthon with my super duper awesome buddy Aldii @ perfectioninbooks.

→ That’s basically the essential info you would need to fully comprehend this absolutely bizarre post. Okay? Okay.

Arrow2 - CopyThe Challenges Recap

check out my #BookBuddyAthon TBR here.

So yes! I completed all of my challenges in time (high 5 myself), of course with the accompany of awesome Aldii. I had tons of fun, and all of my books are wonderful. In fact, none of them is 3 stars & up. Isn’t that crazyingly cool?!

1. CHOOSE 3 BOOKS & HAVE YOUR BUDDY PICK ONE FOR YOU TO READ

22909234After giving Aldii the choice between:

This wonderful outcome of me liking this book is all thanks to Aldii, because her choice is amazing! I had such fun reading this, and thanks to my first year of amateur Spanish lesson, I even recognized some of the words and underlying meaning. Of course, knowing me, I was squealing like a teenage fangirl (in which truly I am one). I super enjoyed it!

2

647160-_sx540_

2. BUDDY READ A BOOK WITH YOUR BUDDY

6611038My name is Gin, and I kill people.”

The experience of being able to fangirl with someone while you are reading it is immeasurably awesome! Aldii and I had quite too much fun doing so with Spider’s Bite, and I’m definitely not complaining. We swooned about a certain detective whose name definitely comes with a lot of heart emoji. We swooned about a certain kiss every now and then, and of course let’s not forget about those awesome kickass action scenes.

I’m giving this a 3.5 stars. But don’t worry, I’m looking forward to the rest of the series. That being said, this first installment (like so many others) has a few problems, and it’s totally cool!

2 (1)

647160-_sx540_

3. READ A BOOK WITH YOUR BUDDY’S FAVORITE COLOR ON IT

23309862Aldii’s favorite color is purple, so I decided to go with Madly by Amy Alward.

“There are some things that are just as strong – no – stronger than love potions you know. Like real feelings.”

I heard some nothing-so-good things about this book when I first started out. But despise all, I came to LOVE this book (wonder what love potion did this book use haha 😂). It was sweet and funny and quirky, and the potion mixing aspect just got me in a blink of an eyes. And oh boy does the cover look pretty!

2

647160-_sx540_

4. READ A BOOK WHERE THE TITLE STARTS WITH THE FIRST LETTER OF YOUR BUDDY’S NAME (OR AT LEAST APPEARS IN THE TITLE!)

16096824Aldii is to ‘A’, as my choice is to…

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES of course!

Aldii told me she really enjoyed this book, and she was right! Sarah J. Maas… *swoon a bit*.

But you see, the problem is, I couldn’t bring myself to read the sequel, A Court of Mist & Fury, because of…well…Rhysand and all (I know, I’m not brave when it comes to this 😭). Still, I love this book, and one day. ONE DAY. I will be ready for you, ACOMAF!

5 stars

647160-_sx540_

5. READ A BOOK THAT YOU WANT TO, JUST BECAUSE…

27245999I was fascinated by Indian culture since I started a lesson on it a few months ago, so of course The Devourers by Indra Das is definitely a must.

I must say, reading this book was hard. Enjoying it was even harder. But this is a MUST. READ. The stories, and words, the emotions… There is something extremely special about this book that lure me in, and I just love it. Reading this book was a completely unique experience for me.

Also, it’s deep. Like, dig a hole from here to the other side of Earth kind of deep. Just…awesome.

2

Arrow2 - CopyThe Life Recap

First good news, I am done with final! D-O-N-E done. And as you see, my excitement was quite easy to see. Not only that, this means I am no long on a hiatus and am returning to my beloved laptop baby! Miss you a bunch babe 💋

8184282

Second good news, I am going back to Vietnam to visit my family next week (since I’m an international student). That means tons of traveling posts/pictures and traditional food are coming up next here at Book Is Glee!

Third good news, I am participating in The Crystal Tour in July. Well, if you think the name rings some kind of recognition, yes! It’s the tour for Elise Kova’s last book of the Air Awakens series, CRYSTAL CROWNED. I just got the confirm email for the tour, and I’m still squealing like crazy.

http://elisekova.com/calling-all-bloggers-for-the-crystal-tour/

If you are a fan of Air Awakens like me too, sign up! Click the image for more info, or go to Elise Kova’s website here. Do I look excited? You bet I do!

Arrow2 - Copy

Thanks for sticking with me guys! I love the feeling of finally typing again. I love watching the post finally go live. But most of all, I love y’all, like, A LOT! (I’m getting sentimental… maybe since we are saying goodbye at school)

Have an amazing bookish day and summer break!

- love xxoo,

11 thoughts on “#BookBuddyAthon (plus my hectic life) Recap

Tell me what you think...

