A Gathering of Shadows (and how my heart died)

Book's CornerAuthor:  V.E. Schwab
Published Date: Feb 23, 2016
Series: Book #2 in Shades of Magic
Genres: Fantasy, Magic, Adventure
External Links: Goodreads | B&N | Amazon

26236443SynopsisFour months have passed since the shadow stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Rhy was wounded and the Dane twins fell, and the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift, and into Black London.

In many ways, things have almost returned to normal, though Rhy is more sober, and Kell is now plagued by his guilt. Restless, and having given up smuggling, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks like she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Games—an extravagant international competition of magic, meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countries—a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

But while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life, and those who were thought to be forever gone have returned. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night reappears in the morning, and so it seems Black London has risen again—meaning that another London must fall.

Arrow2 - CopyMy RamblesASLKDJALKSJDASKLDJASJ HALP I’M DYING…

This book is a evil, evil bookish being…
My life has broken…
I CAN’T!!!
*take a deep breath* I think I’m fine now…

663419

*spend another hour sobbing on the floor*

Long story short, I. Love. Everything. About. This. Freaking. Beautiful. Book.

We get caught up with our characters and what they left behind 4 months after ADSOM. The actions and gripping suspense didn’t show up at first, but it leaves us readers space to know more about the characters, and I guarantee, it worth every single words. Of course, talk about late bloomers, drama and magic come kicking doors and just blew my mind. The sense of adventure and exhilaration certainly did not wane with this sequel, but even more intensified, and I love every second reading it.

“Crossing worlds, killing royals, saving cities. The marks of every good courtship.”

The writing is, no doubt, magnificent and just simply majestic. V.E. Schwab has created a colorful fantasy world with rich and wondrous detail that was designed to capture hearts from the very first page. I was mesmerized, and there is no going back.

So quick reminder on how awesome the characters are:

  • Lila is still a badass — Gosh, I love this girl XD
  • Kell…haizz, he is just so wonderful and amazing and I squealed and giggled and fangirled over his coat in an extreme unhealthy way.
  • Rhy irritated the heck out of me and Kell in the most awesome way, and I love it! ❤ Also, new ship has sailed, and betcha didn’t see THAT coming.
  • Alucard is a swoonie captain, lemma tell you that. An eye-narrowed, suspicious-worthy captain, but a swoonie nontheless.

Also, although Kell and Lila was separated for a good portion of this book, I guarantee, the reunite is overly well-paid.

“I know it’s mad, but for a second I thought it was …”
“Saints, you’re seeing her in everyone and everything now, Kell? There’s a word for that.”
“Hallucination?”
“Infatuation.”

This book is everything that is perfect. The world-building is spectacular, the characters are just oh so amazing and lovable, and the ending. THE ENDING! That notorious cliff-hanger killed me slowly, and I love it so so much. Two words: Read. It! Wait, make it four: Read read READ it!

Arrow2 - CopyRatings5 stars

Similar books: Lady MidnightUprootedShadow and Bone

Arrow2 - Copy

- love xxoo,

13 thoughts on “A Gathering of Shadows (and how my heart died)

  1. I gave ADSoM four stars last year even though it was only okay. But I did find it promising and the sequel was SO FAB. AGoS was everything I wished and more for the reason you addressed in this post. I was skeptical of Rhy before since he seemed like a weaker character but I really grew to like him. And Alucard! ❤ Lila is my favorite now (before it was Holland). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think...

