My Experience Rereading Mistborn & Lots of Feels (duh!)

My RamblesSo, Mistborn Trilogy.

Where do I even start? It’s one of the greatest fantasy novels out there? Or you should definitely read them? Oh yeah, definitely. Still, there is something more…

I think the time I first read the trilogy was about 3 years ago, when my English was still a big mess, and I don’t think I even managed to understand half of what was going on. One of my cousin lend me the copies, and I spent weeks reading them. It was hard to grasp at first, I’ll give you that, but that didn’t affect my love for it. It’s like loving a person who doesn’t speak the same language as you. It’s a struggle, but it’s a satisfying struggle.

mistborn_artwork_by_dominikbroniek
Polish Translation Cover Art by Dominik Broniek

The funny part is, I didn’t got a chance to go through book 3, which is the last book of the trilogy in my consideration (the rest features a different cast of characters), so I basically restarted the whole series not only with a different perspective and understand, but also ignorance of some sort to what will happen next…

THE. BOOKS. BLEW. MY. HEAD.

I cannot find a single word to describe how phenomenal this series is. Heck, I don’t think “phenomenal” can cover it all. The world-building, the anticipation, the characters… Those can’t just simply be described as incredible. Also, Mr. Sanderson, you are now officially receive a high stand in my list of I-love-you-and-hate-is-a-part-of-it-it’s-complicate-I-know authors. Your books are basically tickles. And no matter how straightforward your warnings are, no matter how you tell us, “I’m about to tickle you,” it will still TICKLE IN THE END (I know, it’s the worst kind of example ever, don’t judge). I laughed a lot, cried some more, giggled to myself, and do all kind of stuff that I don’t normally do (I’m a hardcore fangirl, it says something) ALL BECAUSE OF YOUR BOOKS,  dear Mr. Sanderson. And I regret none of that.

mistborn_by_marcsimonetti-d73xjvq
Portuguese Translation Cover Art by Marc Simonetti

The most amazing part was that… I—in a way—expected what will happen for the Mistborn’s ultimate ending. If you have read this amazing series, you would probably tell me, “What? How could you even have that weird, somewhat terrible thought in your mind?” I mean, yeah, nobody wants that to happen, I’m sure. But I know before starting book 3 on the car only two days ago, I was actually telling myself, “Well, Sanderson is that author who would do that kind of things and I would love it to my death.” It happened. And let me tell you, I will love it till the day after my death.

Overall, reading this amazing trilogy was an incredible experience for me. I’m still having difficulties getting over it, and the “difficulties” will probably stay for quite awhile. But in the meantime, I will take my time with our dear new friends in The Alloy of Law and let’s see how that will turn out.

Arrow2 - CopyBook's Corner
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Published Date: July 17, 2006
Genres: Epic Fantasy, Magic, Adventure
External Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

23353924Synopsis(from Mistborn: The Final Empire)

Once, a hero arose to save the world. A young man with a mysterious heritage courageously challenged the darkness that strangled the land.

He failed.

For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.

Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and even the Lord Ruler himself. A new kind of uprising is being planned, one built around the ultimate caper, one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the determination of an unlikely heroine, a street urchin who must learn to master Allomancy, the power of a Mistborn.

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage — Allomancy, a magic of the metals.

Arrow2 - Copy

Corner for those who have read it…

Hahahaha… I have something for you, dearest friends. Of course, those who haven’t read can come here too, since I won’t give out any spoilers. Though, I think this will only let out its…full potential of damage on those who have experienced Mistborn.

You ready for this?

Sure….?

Ta-da!

till_the_very_end_by_ladyroxanne7-d6745ua
Artwork by LadyRoxanne7

“At the center of the flowers, he found two people. Vin lay wearing her customary mistcloak, shirt, and trousers. Elend was in a brilliant white uniform, complete with cape. They were holding hands as they lay among the flowers.

And they were both……”

Mwahahaha. Fill in the blanks yourself, peeps. And enjoy your little surprise! (where is all this tears coming from?!?)

Also, these are some of my favorite artwork from many amazing, talented people across the board…

the_mistborn_cast_by_botanicaxu-d7uz4zv
Artwork by BotanicaXu

This one is my fav…

hunter-bonyun-tumblr-mmyb5lfsrn1srpguho1-1280
Artwork by Hunter Bonyun

Arrow2 - Copy

Let’s Chat: Have you read this awesome series? Thoughts? Comments? Tell me! ❤

- love xxoo,

9 thoughts on “My Experience Rereading Mistborn & Lots of Feels (duh!)

  1. “Also, Mr. Sanderson, you are now officially receive a high stand in my list of I-love-you-and-hate-is-a-part-of-it-it’s-complicate-I-know authors. Your books are basically tickles. And no matter how straightforward your warnings are, no matter how you tell us, ‘I’m about to tickle you,’ it will still TICKLE IN THE END [ . . . ]”

    THIS. ALL OF THIS. You put it perfectly.

    And oh man, I love the artwork! I’d never gone out searching for fan art, but clearly I’ve been missing out.

    Great review! You’ve made me (even more) impatient to finish the series. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic Review! I have read the first book in the trilogy and it totally blew my mind. The characters, the plot and the setting was truly fantastic. I’m looking forward to read the second book in the trilogy and I hope I’ll get to it soon. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think...

