{Review} Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

9781492614418_p0_v1_s260x420

Author: Leah Scheier

Published Date: Sept 1, 2015

Length: 328 pages

Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Mental Health

Age Group: Young Adults

External Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

2

April won’t let Jonah go without a fight.

He’s her boyfriend—her best friend. She’ll do anything to keep him safe. But as Jonah slips into a dark depression, trying to escape the traumatic past that haunts him, April is torn. To protect Jonah, she risks losing everything: family, friends, an opportunity to attend a prestigious music school. How much must she sacrifice? And will her voice be loud enough to drown out the dissenters—and the ones in his head?

 

1

I have to say, I enjoy this book very much. Both of the main characters have their own personal issues, but their circumstances allow them to come together in a very special way. I’ve always been fascinated with anything that have something to do with psychology or mental issues, and so you can understand how this book affected me.

April, the female protagonist, is a very brave girl in her very own unique way, in my opinion. The part where she gave the speech about Jonah touched me the most. She completely walked out of her shell and face the world, the people who once tormented her life. Her courage inspired me.

The book is a perfect mix of heart-twisting and young girl realistic life.. The ending is…well, I truly didn’t expect that to come. Still, the message behind it is beautiful. What it means to lose something. I absolutely adore Your Voice Is All I Hear.

 

2

“I was the one he trusted. I was the one he loved, the only one who believed him, even when his own mother had locked him up and thrown away the key. And now, I was going to pass down the white tiled hallway, knock on his doctor’s office door, slam his secret notebook on her desk and make her read it, make her understand what he was hiding, make her see what only I had seen.”

– Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

 

1

2

Similar books: The Anatomical Shape of a HeartMy Heart and Other Black Holes

 

One thought on “{Review} Your Voice Is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

Tell me what you think...

