{Review} Black Five by J. Lynn Bailey

25768892

Published Date: Jan 4, 2016

Author: J. Lynn Bailey

Source: Netgalley

Genres: Fantasy, Supernatural

Group Ages: Young Adults

Synopsis:

No one ever accused Penelope Jackson of being normal, nor did they suspect the dark secret she kept. A dangerous web of deceit and secrecy unravels when news of a stranger’s death puts Penn on a collision course with the very person she’s been hiding from her whole life. Her fragile world is shaken to its core with the sudden arrival of Vacavious and she soon discovers the bizarre and magical world surrounding her seemingly ordinary life.

No one is who they claim to be, including those closest to Penn. A mysterious security detail emerges from the shadows scrambling to protect her as powerful forces await the fall of her protective veil on her eighteenth birthday.

Penn prepares to fight against unseen evils before it’s too late. The world of Nighmerianotte and its population depends on her survival, for she is the Sanguine.

1

I was very conflicted after reading Black Five. Partly because I didn’t really set up an expectation for it to be disappointed. There are bits and parts of what I love alongside with the one that I didn’t like at all.

The idea of this book is not very original. The story is quite basic, with young girl who found out that she has hidden magic and end up with her life changes, forever (dramatic effect here), from the normal one that she thought she has. Then, she sets out to save the world. The end. The plot is very predictable, which make the book loses it heart-gripping effect.

I like the character development. I can see Penn grows through each and every page, and I love it. The world-building is great enough, and the cover is absolutely amazing! And did I tell you how great the ARC looks? But then, that is all when it comes to my liking of this book.

The language is the main part that spoiled this book for me. The writing was quite abrupt and hard to follow, with a lot of reused words and strange, unrealistic dialogues. Instead of talking like a normal modern teenage girl, Penn tends to speak in a very elaborate, formal way that make her sounds like she is from the 1800s. And although there is a large amount of details and descriptions, I didn’t feel as connect to this book as I should be.

The character’s reactions are not very convincing. Penn straight up fell in love with a stranger, or I feel like she did, due to the lack of emotions through the writings. She instantly believe in what others tell her, which ticked me off a lot, and there are many strange events that didn’t add up to the plot. It was very frustrating.

I don’t think this is a bad book at all, but I can’t seem to bring myself to love it. I had to force myself through this book, and the process was not very enjoyable. Personally, I don’t think this book is for me.

Rating: 2/5

4

Similar Books: Always Kiss Me GoodnightUnclaimed

Tell me what you think...

