Top 5 Retelling Books

Hi ya’ll!

It’s (lazy) Mariana. I’m finally back after two long weeks of being super busy. But no matter what, it’s an excuse (a lame one), and excuses are unacceptable. So sorry…

I just started school one week ago, and figured it out high school is not scary at all (except when you lost and can’t seem to find your class), so I’m pretty exciting! I’ve been missing the blogging world so much, and finally, weekend comes and I just have to get my hands on my laptop immediately. So, Top 5 Friday for ya’ll!

-o-o-o-

No 1. Uprooted by Naomi NovikUprooted-Naomi-Novik

Uprooted is a 2015-released book, and a superb awesome one. One of the best retelling book that I’ve ever read probably. The coolest thing about the book is, although Uprooted is a retelling, the book itself totally goes off the roof. It keeps enough details of our original story, but instead of going to the same direction, it takes a leap and becomes so unique and special that you will never know what to expect next. And the atmosphere *shudder*, it gives us a very dark but magical feeling, and keep you turning the pages, non-stop! If you haven’t read it, you totally need to get your hands on it, now. 11/10 recommendation!


No 2. Splintered by A.G. Howard

12558285

I MUST have it.

That was my first reaction seeing Splintered. I didn’t regret acting like Mad Hatter that day and getting everyone attention (which was a start of how many weird nicknames of mine), I totally don’t, because, well, the book really deserves it.

Splintered brings retelling to a new level of awesomeness. The plot is indescribably beautiful and unique, and the writing is just magnificent. I have some small problems with Splintered though, but it’s all about fangirling stuff, so relax and know that you will have the same symptoms going through the book *evil laugh*. And then there is Morpheus… Totally swoon-worthy.


No 3. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

ScarletUS.indd
This book is one of my very first reviews on my blog, and it just excellent. The book is a gripping, fast-pace, heart-pounding adventure. An adventure that you don’t want to miss, trust me. And the narrative voice is absolutely amazing. It was so real with the era that picturing what’s happening in the book is as easy as blinking. I was falling hard for this book.

My review: Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen


No 4. The Crown by Colleen Oakes


Another Alice’s retelling. But guess what, it’s totally different. This book is the best book that I’ve ever read that talks about the villain’s side of the story. I’ve always been fascinated with the Red Queen, and this book is just perfect for that “weird” fascination of mine. You really should check this book out, it’s a very refreshing perspective.


No 5. Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Well, Enchanted marks my first baby steps into the this whole retelling thing, so I have a pretty good impression with this book. I love the idea of mixing up a lot of fairy tales and put them all in a same book with such beautiful writing. The book gives you that feeling of “fairy tale” relaxation, but then pull you back with some amazing twists.. I like this book a lot. And then, there come this wonderful cover…

-o-o-o-

So, are you a retelling book person? What’s your opinion on my top 5? Or is there any retelling out there that I missed and really need to get my hands on it? Tell me in the comments below!

Tell me what you think...

