Queen of the Night by Leanne Hall

Publisher: Text Publishing

Length: 304 pages

Released Date: November 10, 2015

Format: E-book

Source:  Publisher (Netgalley)

Age Group: Young Adults

Genres: Adventure, Urban Fantasy

Buy it on Amazon:

Queen of the Night

13042766

Shortlisted for the Gold Inky Award 2012

In the sequel to the Text Prize-winning This Is Shyness, the dark is dangerous. So are your dreams.

For six months Nia has tried to forget Wolfboy, the mysterious boy she met in Shyness. The boy who said he’d call but didn’t.

Then, one night, her phone rings. The things Wolfboy says draw her back to the suburb of Shyness, where the sun doesn’t rise and dreams and reality are difficult to separate. The Darkness is changing and Wolfboy’s friend is in trouble. And Nia decides to become Wildgirl once more.

As dreamy, funny and real as This Is Shyness.

Queen of the Night doesn’t let me down, as expected. While This is Shyness is full of oddness and strange things, this book is like a perfect mix between dream and awake.

The story picks up six months after where it left us in This is Shyness. The only problem is, our Nia and Jethro haven’t spoken to each other ever since they said goodbye. No text, no phone call, and that make Nia very frustrated. She moved back to her life, found a new job at a vintage clothes shop, and tried her best to forget the beautiful howling boy she met in the area where the sun never rise. But with a small trigger and a short voice mail, Nia was dragged back to her adventure with Wolfboy in Shyness.

Nia (a.k.a. Wildgirl) is awesome as ever. Every actions, every comment that she made in this book make me love her even more. The best thing that she’s ever said in this book (in my humble opinion) is “I’m going to impress him with my giant brain.’’ when her mom said that she is “hot”. I mean, it sounds quite informal, but hey, isn’t it the best thing a girl could say?

Jethro (alias Wolfboy) is charming like always. He helped out Ortolan, watched over his niece, Diana, and worked on his band. But when trouble came, and he had to find a way to get his best friend back, he contacted the girl that he had missed every day since that faithful day of goodbye. Well, let just say, the adventure begins again, amazing as always.

Queen of the NIght gives me another unexpected experience, again. The plot twists and action scenes are breathtaking. The only problem is, I expected this book will answered all of my questions from This is Shyness, but it doesn’t. This so-called “problem” doesn’t make the book less awesome, but my curiosity seems to attempt to kill me right now. So I hope there will be at least a third book in this series, and I’m very looking forward to it. And I recommend this book, I mean, how couldn’t I?

Rating: 8/10

Books in the series:

This is Shyness #1

Queen of the Night #2

Similar books: Wake, The Final Warning, Immortal City

Tell me what you think...

