Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Length: 384 pages

Released Date: May 26, 2015

Format: E-book

Source:  Amazon Kindle Store

Age Group: Young Adults/Teens

Genres: Suspense, Thriller, Romance

Buy it on Amazon:

Daughter of Deep Silence

 23281652

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.
 
Sharp and incisive, Daughter of Deep Silence by bestselling author Carrie Ryan is a deliciously smart revenge thriller that examines perceptions of identity, love, and the lengths to which one girl is willing to go when she thinks she has nothing to lose.

A new page-turner of the month! For fans of Gone Girl and the popular TV shows Revengethis is book absolutely amazing!

The cover and the description tricked me into thinking this is a paranormal book. And well, I’m glad it did. Because I just can’t get my hands of the pages. As expected of Carrie Ryan, she always create such fantastic storyline and gripping plot twists. Oh, oh, oh, I just love this book.

The book starts with the rescue of Frances Mace, a fourteen years old girl, one of the three survivals from the accident of the luxury yacht Persephone. Her parents were murdered on the ship, her best friend, Libby, died before the rescue team can come, and the boy she loves lied about the horrible shipwreck. To protect her from the harm that will soon come, Libby’s dad took her in and from that day, Frances lives the life of her best friend. She lost everything she cares about that dreadful night, and she wants revenge.

The best part of this book is not the revenge plan, but the thoughts, the inner struggle of Frances. She’s afraid of everything and started to build up a shield, pushing everyone away from her, masked herself with cruel words and vicious smiles. However, I believe that she is, no doubt, very brave, because you can only be brave when you are afraid. She was torn between her revenge and her love for Grey, and I have to say, getting through the book from Frances’s perspective is such an experience. Carrie Ryan successfully created a dark atmosphere, so mesmerizing that make putting the book down is such a hard thing to do.

The only, tiny problem of Daughter of Deep Silence, in my opinion, is the twist is quite….too fast. The hatred that was wrapped up everyday for 4 years is not that easy to be broken down for just a few weeks (I know I know, there’s an English word called “true love”). I guess this is just some accuses for me to complain that I still haven’t had enough of this book. So Carrie, listen to me, please please please write more books like this, I think ten will be a fine a number!

And the ending, oh my gosh, the ending! It just hit me straight to the center of my heart. I’m not going to give it away, but I’ll tell you something, it was very unexpected. I’m very enjoy reading this book and I definitely recommend it!

Rating: 8/10

Similar books: Gone Girl, Hold Me Like a Breath, The Forest of Hands and Teeth

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Tell me what you think...

